The US sanctions 14 CCP members for their role in Hong Kong security law

On December 7th, US Secretary of State Mike Pompeo released a statement about ‘Designations of National People’s Congress Officials Undermining the Autonomy of Hong Kong’. This statement announces the US government’s decision to put financial sanctions and travel restrictions on 14 members of the National People’s Congress Standing Committee (NPCSC) of the People’s Republic of China, and their family members.

These 14 NPCSC members are directly responsible for developing, adopting, or implementing the National Security Law in Hong Kong passed on the eve of the 23rd anniversary of the handover of Hong Kong from the United Kingdom to China, a law that allows the Chinese government to nullify the basic commitment to Hong Kong’s freedom under the Sino-British Joint Declaration treaty in 1997.

These 14 individuals are all members of the Chinese Communist Party. Their details including date, place of birth and positions with the Party are also published.

This action by the US is an escalation from the sanctions announced August 7th, on 11 Hong Kong government officials, including Chief Executive of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, Carrie Lam.

Author: XO酱

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Himalaya Australia

One Team One Family 共同的梦想把我们团结 在一起,澳喜一家人。 Dec. 08